Inventory Improvements

Inventory Improvements

In the following I am going to explain difficulties and problem I have with the currently implemented inventory, give suggestions for improvements and provide possible solutions. I do it quite detailed for why and how and these are, of course, just my opinions! Refer to the TLDR for a summary. The suggestions are ordered after priority and get an “!” for very high priorities. I will try to keep the post updated when additional input or suggestions arise. Comments are very welcome!
As I am a software developer and modder as well, I’ll always have coding complexity, scope and implementability in my mind.

Goals

To start talking about the problems of the current inventory we have to look at the goals first. In my opinion an inventory doesn’t only need to be functional but should also be convenient. It should be part of the gameplay loop in some form, but the interaction with the inventory itself should be as brief as possible, except where it is a core gameplay element like in Escape from Tarkov. Usually, the goals are to organize/ access items with some restrictions to carry count/ space/ weight. Of course, I don’t know the goals of the developing team. These goals are suggestions and/ or derived from the current implementation.

Current goals and features:

• Carrying items
  • Accessing items for consumption, equipping, dropping
  • Usability, especially for console/ controller
  • Restriction to the amount of carriable items
  • Quick access

Possible suggestions/ additions:

• Weight/ space restriction
  • Usability with keyboard and mouse

The Problems

I will explain every problem in detail below and give possible solutions/ suggestions to achieve the goals of the inventory in the final chapter. You can also jump straight to the solutions and suggestions section. This serves more as an analysis.

Inventory Space System!