Player 2’s character can be reset unintentionally.
Everytime this happens in my experience its always due to small error in player 2s behalf.
If joining player 1, and player 1 is on settings screen ready to launch, if player 2 changes gender and player 1 launches player 2 will lose inventory and skills.
Even cycling from a female to a male and back to a female i have experienced a character reset.
Work around - communicate the small issue you have made as quickly as possible to player one, politely asking them to quit without saveing - reload dont change gender unless your willing to restart.
Not map specific
Not setting specific
I wouldn’t personally call this a bug, but scrolling through the forum and seeing it posted in others posts about player 2 character been reset.
I feel posting my findings may assist with others who experience this issue and hopefully manage to save them from a reset character